Talk About Marriage banner

It is okay for me to go on my work incentive trip without my wife each year?

• yes - it's a work obligation

Votes: 4 13.3%
  • no - it's for couples and if she can't come, you can't either

Votes: 26 86.7%
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello... I have a huge issue in my marriage that I am hoping will get me some insight from other married couples who will give me their honest opinions... I am a happily married man to my wife of 13 years (been together for almost 18)... we rarely argue and when we do it's quickly resolved. However, we've had a recurring issue that comes up over and over and never gets resolved. It's probably our most heated topic in our marriage.

I am a professional salesperson and I have been a top performer at my company since before we were married. I have worked for 3 different companies in this time and each of my companies offers a sales incentive trip each year I meet and exceed my goals. Before we were married, I brought my wife with me to places such as Hawaii, Costa Rica and Mexico. Then we started our family... when my daughter was 9 months old, 11 years ago, it was the first year my wife couldn't make it on the incentive trip. Instead I took a buddy of mine (who my wife approves of) to St. Thomas. It turned out that my wife didn't take it well and felt left out. I explained that the trips give me the recognition and job well done in front of my peers that I feel I deserve. (She wonders where her recognition is as a stay and home mom) The trips are always in January or February and we don't have a babysitter.