Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me first start off by saying that I think this website is an invaluable resource for those in both healthy and problematic marriages - I have been encouraged, inspired, and strengthened by numerous posts in the month or two since I joined. I have posted a little bit before - my wife of 3.5 years and I are separated (~3 months now), mainly due to her depression. She works 8 to 5, and I'm an engineering PhD student, so we definitely have our stressors.

That said, while I have found a lot of useful information on here, it has also enabled my cynical side to develop, especially when it comes to infidelity. I can't give a lot of specifics, and my wife has never given me a reason to think that she would/has cheat(ed) (I know, I know, everyone starts out by saying that), but let's just say since I've joined, I find myself going over our cell phone records at least once every other week - something that I never once did before.

By my own estimation, and based on the very limited number of posts I've read, I would say that the vast majority of divorced/separated members on here are in that situation due to a WS. Is this accurate? For some of the longer-term members, what percentage of users would you say have suffered infidelity? I'm cognizant of the whole "sampling bias" and other self-selectivity issues by asking such a question in this forum, but I often find myself looking for more advice regarding situations where infidelity has not occurred, and I'm curious to know the reasons behind the shortage...

·
Registered
643 Posts
By my own estimation, and based on the very limited number of posts I've read, I would say that the vast majority of divorced/separated members on here are in that situation due to a WS.