Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,364 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I hear a lot of people say, "I can't sing." Due to my situation, though, I wonder what really makes a good singer. Is singing really that difficult if a person really wanted to do it. Are some people's voice box just not suited for singing, or is it more of a mental thing?

My situation is this: I have never had a singing lesson in my life and wouldn't know a music note from any other scribble, but according to others, I can sing like nobody's business. I have always enjoyed music and do a lot of shower singing, but nothing professional. A few years ago, i agreed to sing a couple of songs at a show being put on for a high school because i am a teacher, and sometimes we just do things to try and entertain the kids.

They hired a guy who has a band and does shows every weekend, and they asked a few teachers to join in. After the performance, the guy said, "Wow, you sang better than i do and I've been doing this for 30 years." He even invited me to go with him and sing a few songs at his shows, which i declined.

That was it, from that point on, anytime singing is required, my principal always asks me, along with a few other teachers. We did another show the next year, and one lady at the school also has her own band and gets raves when she sings. I learned later that she asked the planners to put me on last because she said, "I just can't follow him."

I was recently asked to sing a patriotic song at a Veteran's Day
celebration, and once again, everyone was excited. The veterans came over afterwards and said that was the most moving rendition they had ever heard.

My daughter has told me many times, "Dad, you should go on American Idol, I'm serious."(I'm too old)