Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this so I appreciate any feedback and advice you can give.

My husband and I moved from the mid-west down south for a very lucrative job opportunity about 3 years ago. He has hated it from day 1 but stuck it out. We decided it was a good move for a short period of time then would move back home (where my entire family is located). I never imagined moving away from home but adapted to the situation b/c my family would still be able to visit often - given we only live 8 hrs away.

In the meantime, I became a mother. Started a company with a business partner and would not be able to work remotely if we did move. We have invested in our community, neighbors and friends. Everything we have worked for the last few years will be wiped clean and we have to start over......again.

Now, my husband wants to move further West for another 'good job'. I want to support him and get him out of his current unhappy job situation but I do not want to move where neither of our families live (or anywhere near). It just seems like he is constantly pitching me a new city or new job to me so I jump on board and say lets move. I am willing to move again, I just feel like this has way more cons than pros.

I don't want to sound ungrateful b/c we do have a job as well as another great job opportunity but I never see an end to this constant moving. I am very close to my family and feel like I am already missing out on quality time with them. Moving further away would allow seeing our families 1-2 x a year. I am sorry but that is not how I was raised.

Help!!! Anybody in the same situation or had to deal with something like this?

·
Registered
3,538 Posts
What does your husband say about your reservations?

He doesn't share the same views as you do about extended family?