Talk About Marriage banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Never thought I would find myself here, but here I am. I've been married for almost 14 years. 13.5 years of my marriage have been "happy wife, happy life" mentality. I was a cop for almost all those years and got out 9 months ago to salvage what I had left, even after an affair. My wife took me back, so she says, but coming from a small town, its a stigma if you get divorced. I started a company that is growing very slowly but my wife makes zero effort to help me grow. We still attend counseling because it makes her feel good to point out my flaws, which the counselor eats up, but it drags me down miserably where I don't want to talk to her for days afterwards. I have come to realize she has not benefitted me or helped me grow as a person as she is still extremely attached to her family that lives fences over from us. A little over a year ago, I had serious thoughts of killing myself thinking that is the only way out and at least she and the kids would get some financial benefits out of it (don't worry, I looked into the conditions). I've tried to convince her to move out of state away from her family so we could start fresh and somewhere new but she tells me she will never leave her family and she has a right to be selfish. I'm at a loss and feel that I will forever be stuck in this revolving door where I'm placed below her family and what they think is best. And to reiterate, I know I ****ed up having an affair but I have come to realize after over two years of it happening, I longed for someone who felt like they needed me more than their own family and more than financial status.

·
Registered
3,363 Posts
Well, you certainly screwed yourself over with having an affair. Why should she move away from her family after that? Some people can heal from infidelity, some cannot.