Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I'll try my best to explain my situation.

I'm 27 years old, I graduated in Architecture college two years ago and, as I had planned with my husband, we married right after.

1- The economy in my country, Brazil, went through a recession. There is still low expectation of recovery for the next year or more.
2- I gratuated in the recession, I was unemployed for one and a half year regardless of my efforts.
3- I'm currently employed in a job and area outside of my expertise. It is a low-income job with little expectation of growth. It is supposed to be temporary. After all, better this than nothing, right?
4- But will it really be just a short time? There is still so much for the economy to recover and architecture offices are still struggling to survive. I didn't stop distributing CVs and still no answer. I started to realize that I might stay in this job for more than only 6 months.

5- My husband is eight years older than me and has a stable and well paid job. Money isn't a problem for us.
6- In my current situation, I earn 1/10 of what my husband does.
7- How much he earns compared to me, I think, doesn't bother me. I never liked to be dependent from my parents and I also hated to be my husband's dependent. I personally feel childish for that. So earning, even if just a little, means that I'm not spending his money anymore and that makes me feel better.
8- And this mentality continues even if he insists that I don't need to worry and that I should view his money as our money.

9- Since young I wanted to be independent, to leave my house because I knew while I was under my parents wings I had little opportunity to actually experience the harsh world. But when I look back, I can't help but think how I utterly failed in this single wish I have for myself.