Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
G'day from New Zealand. This is my first time on this forum and in fact my first time ever asking for relationship advice.

I am in my mid-40s with three school-aged children. I work from home in a rural area, so I'm relatively isolated. I have been married to my husband for almost 9 years, previously I have had two long-term relationships (4 years and 10 years) since I was 19 years old.

In each relationship, I have struggled with insecurity issues. I was given up for adoption at one day old and lived in foster care until I was adopted at six months, perhaps it stems from that?

As I've got older, I have learned how to control my fears to stop them harming my relationship - I feel it is a waste of emotional energy to worry about what might happen. If something happens, I will deal with it.

My husband got a new job a couple of years ago that involves some travel away from home - about one week every couple of months. So far, I have managed control my insecurities while he was away, and not ask questions or phone him - he phones me when it's convenient - or made any suggestions I don't trust him. However, last night I had a bit of a tsunami.

He is away for three days at a conference. The first day, he phoned up quite drunk around 8pm and said he was going out for dinner and would text me when he got back to his room. He didn't text, and didn't reply to my texts at 12pm and 2am asking if he was OK. He finally text at 5.30am and said he had got back around midnight and fallen asleep because he was drunk, and he was sorry. I was just relieved that he was OK.