Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was hoping there was a health section to post this is, but it seems the sex section will probably work. Now, this isnt a question about honesty or trust. Its simply a medical question and i hope the responses can be limited to such.

So hypothetically.....amanda has sex with tim. Tim has gonnoria or chlamydia. Amanda later has sex with john. John now also has one of those diseases. However, amanda never actually had them.

Possible? Maybe possible? Needle in a haystack possible? Or just flat out impossible?
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
9,246 Posts
How do you know Amanda never actually had either?

You can be asymptomatic but still be a carrier for both of those.

·
Banned
8,908 Posts
I'm not a doctor. But I believe that while she may very well be without symptoms, she must be infected. The one possible exception would be if she had "infectious fluids" from the first guy that came into contact with the second guy. But it's much more likely she just wasn't showing symptoms.

Btw, around here there's free STI clinics that can offer advice. Might be worth asking professionals.

C
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
1,691 Posts
I'm with PBear--it's a question best posed to the professional who diagnosed the hypothetical trio.

There are lots of possibilities. Maybe John slept with someone else who passed along the STD. Many are asymptomatic and you can have them and never realize it, but still pass it along. Or, if Amanda has already had the STD in question, she may have antibodies that keep her from getting sick, but not getting rid of the germs themselves.

Either way, Amanda should definitely get herself tested and it sounds like investing in a box of condoms would work miracles for this bunch :D

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #5