Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
917 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm for the bacon being wrapped around the fatback-filled cookie. Crispier?
Maybe if we bake-fried the shortbread cookie in bacon grease? I worked as a baker in college, but I may be out of my realm, here. I'm willing to experiment, though. Sugar, Splenda, or Stevia/mix?

Maybe like candied pigs-in-a-blanket?

Worth a shot?

·
Premium Member
2,086 Posts
Sugar, brown sugar, or maple syrup--no Splenda. I do like Stevia in drinks, but don't cook with it.

U R the experienced baker, your choice...

·
Registered
3,562 Posts
Just make the cookies with lard instead of butter. Like Southern grandmothers used to do it. Or with bacon grease if you want more bacon-y excellence, which I've done to good effect with both benne seed wafers and shortbread.

I suspect that fatback jelly would just end up being a gelatinous swath of more lard, which isn't actually all that tasty in its native form. A good sweet/savory bacon-onion jam might work though....

Or, you could stop trying to reinvent the wheel of sweet-bacon snack-y goodness and just make Glazed Bacon Crackers. Take saltine crackers, wrap individually in bacon, bake until the bacon is done enough, brush with maple syrup (or molasses or cane syrup or just toss on a handful of brown sugar) and sprinkle with a little Cajun seasoning. Put them back in the oven until they're sticky enough. Serve however many you don't eat while plating them. :D

·
Registered
917 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Just make the cookies with lard instead of butter. Like Southern grandmothers used to do it. Or with bacon grease if you want more bacon-y excellence, which I've done to good effect with both benne seed wafers and shortbread.

I suspect that fatback jelly would just end up being a gelatinous swath of more lard, which isn't actually all that tasty in its native form. A good sweet/savory bacon-onion jam might work though....