Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A little background, I'm a navy vet, now navy dependent. I'm attending school full time so I get a living allowance from the VA every month. I currently am not working, and don't have any children. My husband and I decided I should just focus on school.

I know this is long...but I'm confused and don't know if what I did was inconsiderate, or if it was ok? Please be honest.

We've been at our new location for a little over a year and I find it very boring. I haven't made any real friends and pretty much stay home all day. I've never not worked, and I'm getting tired of having to take care of all the household duties, and my school work with no help (that’s another complaint for another day). I talked to my husband about getting a part-time job next semester (I’ll have a lighter course load), because I'm board and want to contribute more to our savings. He always tells me, "It's fine, you don't have to work, you don't need to work" etc. Anyway, I told him I was thinking about a part-time retail job on base. He seemed so-so about it. Two days ago I signed up on a babysitting site and in less than 24 hours someone wanted to interview me for a position starting in January. After I had made my profile on the site and signed up, I told my husband. He seemed fine. Thought it was good, but reminded me that I didn't need to work. Then tonight, I was talking about how I was nevouse about my interview and he got mad at me, saying I should have talked to him first before signing up on the site. He doesn't like that I "just went and did it" he said its like I didn't even care what he thought. He was so mad, that he actually left the house. He's never done that before. It upsets me that he's upset about this. He wants me to apologize, but I'm not sorry. I want a job and I have no children....so I don't see what the big deal is. :(

·
Registered
1,133 Posts