Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been married to my wife for 13 years. We married very young; we used to be a very tight couple and spent a lot of time together and as young adults/teenagers that we were our hormones usually got the best of us until one day we got pregnant. She dropped out of high school as I started working part time jobs to support us while I attended college. Those were very difficult times and there were moments when we both wondered why we were together, but we weathered the storm and made into much better and happier times.

I graduated college several years ago with a BS and an MS in engineering and currently have a stable and well-paying job. She, on the other hand, has refused to continue her education. For many years since she dropped out of school I have tried to convince her to get her GED and go to college. I understand her reason for dropping out and I recognize that I carry half the blame; she has taken care of our children well and has performed as a housewife ever since we married and I thank her for that, but she uses that as an excuse to accept and defend the status quo. Our circumstances in life are such that she doesn't speak English and has refused to learn it too. She didn't learn to drive when she was a teenager and she has not made any attempt to learn either. She has never had a job, and yes you guessed it, she doesn't want one either. All the decisions made at home are made by me. I always ask for her opinion and feelings about things, but most times she only agrees with me. The rare occasions when she speaks her mind against my suggestions I would ask for her reasoning behind her thoughts (that's my nature as an engineer) but she ALWAYS reverts back to my initial suggestion saying that she might have been wrong.