Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, first post here.

I'll try to be brief even though I could write pages of details here.

I have been married to my wife for two years, seven years together.

Im a native english speaker but my wife isnt. I work as an expat in Europe where English is not the main language in the country.

We communicate in English and she is at a higher intermediate level. We can communicate no problem, but not on a deep level. In other words its hard to have deep, insightful conversations as she doesnt have the words to experess herself.

This is a frustration, but we make up for it my showing lots of affection towards each other through gestures and other non communicative ways.

Anyway, why is this thread in the 'Sex in Marriage' section ?

Were both finding that this lack of deep communication is affecting our sex life. The best way to describe it is that as we dont have that little every day banter and laughter that two native speakers have, which often can progress to a sexual / romantic finale.

We found this is somewhat of a barrier which is stopping us from having a more enjoyable sex life .... in the end sex is a lot about communication, which is our weakness due to the language differences. (although we are both strong communicators in our native languages)

So my question is whether anybody has also experience living with a partner who is not a native speaker and what sort of approach, ideas, dare I say 'tactics' one uses to make this communication barrier lesser and have a more enjoyable marriage and sex life.

thank you,
EA

·
Registered
4,374 Posts
Have you tried to learn her language? Even if you're terrible at it at first, I think seeing that you are making an effort to communicate with her in her language can bring you closer. And maybe your attempts would add some laughter to your home :D.

You're on the right track, though. Sex and intimacy start in the mind.

·