Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After spending the last 7 months on here as a reader and a “student”, it’s time for me to share my own story. In doing so, I hope to tap into this vast world of knowledge and experience found here, to maybe help orient me in these uncharted waters I’m now sailing. I’ll try my best to keep this short.

A little back history; my wife and I met in college, dated for a year, followed by a 6-month engagement. We have now been married 7.5 years, and have a wonderful 4.5 year-old daughter. My wife is a Charge Nurse on a labor and delivery unit (meaning no male coworkers – including maintenance and entry-level staff), and I am a traveling sales professional, on the road three out of every four weeks for four day intervals.

Our marriage has been in slow decline since fall 2011. I started to feel her slow yet deliberate emotional detachment in August 2011. Our sex life was declining as well – perhaps to about one interaction every 10 or 11 days. The holidays of 2011 were a blow out as they usually are; traveling, shopping, spending, giving, visiting, eating, stressing, etc., etc. February 2012 rolls around, and on one of my “at-home-off-the-road” weeks, I was at home having a quick lunch before returning to my office when she came home from the gym (while our daughter was at pre-school) and approached me, telling me that she wasn't very happy in our relationship, hadn't been for several month and that she felt that we should visit with a marriage counselor. I balked at the idea, stating that I was raised to believe that marital problems are best resolved between husband and wife under the same roof without any third party involvement. After some debate, she conceded, put the idea aside, and ended the conversation . . . But the emotional detachment took an increased pace following that day.