Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
1,706 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not sure, but being a very "non-religious" person more of a Deist then any formal religion.

I find on alot of Marriage forums, including this one, Religion is a big "road Block" for many relationships on various levels.

I am almost dumb founded that this is such a big problem to get over.

I've studied many religions, grew up catholic, studied, jeudism, Muslim, various christian branches (methodist, lutheran, baptist) bhudahism (sp?) All have the basic core and the basic set up of fear to control their members, the more I studied, the more I realized they were basically the same "core principles" that make people "fearful" of GOD.

Many religions, especially the christian including catholics, were developed to bring order/law to the "Pagan" world where orgies existed and such. Take for Instance, Halloween and easter come from pagan holidays, even Christmas was (Jesus Christ was born in the spring) but this was really teh catholic church morphing these holidays into their religion to basically take them over.....I'll move on.

But I am shocked by how religion to this day controls people's lives and influences some major decisions.

I married my wife in a catholic church, becuase it meant something to her, I married her because I loved her. I've dated Jews, catholics, muslims, they all kissed the same, no one was different.

While I think religion is good for many people, it provides a solid foundation to live by, IE ten Commandments, but also have found it intrusive to affect peoples lives negatively.

not sure where I am going with my rant, but I just can not understand why people allow "others" to control their lives on very serious issues.