Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I've been lurking here for a few days now and am going through a divorce of my own. My wife and I have only been together for about 2 years now. I know that is not a long time, but we have known each other for 10 years now, only having gotten together the last 2 years.

The past 2 years have been rough for us. Prior to the 2 years, I have been chasing her for 8 years giving her unconditional love, and finally, having the love of my life be with me. At first, I gave 100% of myself to the relationship and things were heaven. Over time, however, I began to see how different her approach was to situations. These turned into, from my perspective, nagging. the nagging got so bad that I eventually began to not commit myself 100% into the relationship, and always thought in the back of my mind that this relationship would not work. When we had problems, I would just hear her arguments and not "listen" to her and neglect her effort to try to work things out. I was distant, and I was tired.

It got so bad that I would walk out on her at the first sign when things did not go ideally in my mind, or when I was just too exhausted with trying to communicate with her. Even worst, I compared her to my previous relationship, a relationship I ended to be with this girl. I would disappear for a few weeks, and then come back and apologize for what I had done, and that I would promise to try to communicate better next time, but I never fully took that to heart. I have done this a few times, each time eventually coming back to her, but deep in the back of my mind, only half-heartedly. In November of 2012, I walked out again, during that time, I was angry and upset, and thought that this was the breaking point, that this will never work and that we should be separated.