Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please help. I'm having my first MC session in a few days and I need suggestion whether I should choose a male or female counselor. I want to change it now so it's not awkward to change later.

My problem is that my husband does NOT give me any respect. He can raise his voice, yell, curse, call me names (F,S, W, B...you name it), uses bad words whenever he wants or any reason. I told him it's not right since our child is 2 yr old now and that it hurts my feelings and self esteem alot. He claims that I make him mad and when he's mad he can said whatever. He even mention divorce a few times. I NEVER call him name once. He is a doctor and I'm also a professional so this is not something we are accustomed to. He does not act like this with anyone, his friends, co-worker, family, but me. He admits he's workaholic, stubborn, egocentric, moody and has problem communication but he says "that's how I'm if you don't like it, leave. I'm the most successful amongs my friends" (he equates success to how much money he makes.)

I always give in to him times after times so he does not respect me at all. Plus, we went thru a lot like my mom passed away, then our first born passed, then I become totally dependent on him financially when my baby is born (now is 2). everytime things happened, my self esteem and confident got lower and lower and I was vulnerable. He took advantage and took me for granted that I'm always here no matter how he treats me. I'm sensitive and not very strong minded.

I still love my husband and wants to be with him as long as he treats me right with respect. I don't know how to do it so I'm going to counselor right now. Someone said you can't change a person but you can change yourself to cause a positive response from him. I will give it be try before I think about the D word.