Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I am new to this message board, and I’m reaching out for some advice. I have been married for 12 years and have two girls (9 and 7).
My husband and I have had trouble throughout our marriage including: financial trouble (in which I was blamed for spending too much money), not seeing eye to eye on parenting, me feeling isolated from my family, his bad temper, and anger issues.

In the past, my husband has told me I’m disgusting while I eat, I need to fix the kids’ hair differently, I should turn my camera around while on FaceTime so people around him can’t see my face without makeup, told me he won’t have sex with me unless I shower, and many other things.

After confronting him and telling him these things hurt my feelings, he insists I am trying to silence him and not let him have an opinion on anything. He also never spends time with our kids, making excuses for things he has to do around the house. He yells at them, spanks them, and intimidates them.

He doesn’t have any friends, and all of his family lives in Mexico.

I guess I feel bad for him, because he doesn’t have any support. That’s why I don’t leave. I had a talk with him yesterday, and said things aren’t working. He said if we get a divorce, he’s moving away somewhere warm to go and “find himself.” (We live in a big Midwestern city). I feel that this is a way to manipulate me into letting him stay.

I am at a loss at what to do. Especially during a pandemic. This all sucks.

Thanks for listening.

·
Registered
1,888 Posts
Who cares if he doesn't have any support? That's his problem, not yours. What has he even done over the years to deserve your support? Beating you down to the point that you're afraid to leave and have no self-worth doesn't count. You are worth more than this and you deserve better than this, so do your daughters.