Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
WH & I are in the very early stages of healing. I recently uncovered his A over the past 2 weeks and more TT's this past week. I am new to this whole process and we are in MC (2nd session will be this coming Tuesday.) I keep reading that the WS is supposed to be doing the heavy-lifting. Can someone please define what that means exactly. I will note that he is very attentive, completely transparent and doing & saying all of the right things at the moment. Is that what I should be looking for? Anything else? He keeps telling me not to have any apologies or guilt for him, this was all his doing and he accepts full responsibility. I just want to make sure as we go through this process that I am "educated" in so far as what I should expect from him.

·
Premium Member
882 Posts
Your WH has to continue to do the heavy lifting and you will have to watch for re-lapses. It's horrible that you have to feel like you're policing your spouse - but he has to understand and accept it for as long as you need to do it. The heavy lifting is about giving you what you need to heal.

You're both off to a good start though, so I hope you have continued success!

·
Banned
2,234 Posts
Here's a visual example of NOT heavy lifting. I wrote a thread last summer about this.

Archaeologist of Truth. That's what the betrayed spouse is, even though they never went to school for it. Here they stand side by side with the wayward spouse, but the betrayed is the one with the shovel in their hands.