Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My girlfriend and I have been together for 3 years now and have been through a lot together, both positives and negatives. We have survived (and I think become a stronger coupled) through my semester abroad, the death of her father, serious injuries, and the loss of a one of her to be 'life long friends'. We have also spent so many wonderful times together from holidays to family vacations, to the two of us just packing up and leaving for a week. I studied abroad last semester and before leaving, I hadn't even thought or cared about marriage. Sure the idea of the party sounded fun, but it was never something that really mattered to me, at least until I couldn't be with her within 5 min 24/7.

As much as any 22 year old male can possibly be sure, I know want to marry this girl! Obviously we have talked about it many times, ranging from a joking fun fantasy to the serious 'could we actually do this'. So great, all seems perfect, we are young, in love, are doing great in school, have fantastic career prospects, and life aspirations. I will graduate in December, she in May. But then there is graduate school. Both of our career goals demand advanced degrees. I will be pursuing a PhD starting next fall, and she will starting an MBA and masters in statistics around the same time. We both want to go right into our advanced degrees without starting working and trying to do them on the side. So ideally I will graduate in 2017, and she in 2016. Both of us are looking at schools in the same cities (fortunately the cities with the top 10 programs in my field largely correspond to the top 10 in her) and intend to move in together in May.