Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello-

My wife and I have been together for 7 years and married for the past 3. I am 30 and she is 29 and we do not have any children. We have had a strange history in that I am a 4th year medical student that has spent many months away from her. We both admit that we have a lot of good things in our relationship but I have squandered them because I have a intimacy issues. Issues that have been present before medical school. I find her Very attractive, but I have always felt awkward and uncomfortable being intimate and romantic with her. I dont know where this comes from. I wish I knew how to be confident in this area, but I feel that I am terrible at it. She has put up with it for years because of the good things we have in our relationship. There are other issues as well.

She feels like she is the only responsible one and wishes that I would be "more manly" and plan things, take charge of things and show initiative. I agree that with intimacy, the checkbook, and vacations or getaways, etc. I have not been taking charge. Im not sure why other than it seems that if I do actually do something for us on my own (far and few between) it always seems to miss the mark and I felt terrible about it. I believe it was this emotion that led me to avoid doing things like this for us. All of this combined with other things makes her feel like she is not secure with me and that I am incapable of being a man.