Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm new to this chat room my alias is Javier.

Recently I found out my wife had an affair after 32 years of marriage or I should say 32nd anniversary coming up next month she denied it at first but then came clean some what?

We are trying to work on our marriage and maybe save it. We have started counseling and I just don't know if I can trust her ever again she betrayed my heart and now it is broken and I don't know if it can ever be repaired with her.

I had put her on a pedestal and maybe in doing so I'm the one that created this monster?

32 years of marriage there were a lot of ups and downs but one thing that remained constant was my love for her, the way I would have put it before is the one thing that remained constant was OUR love but now that feeling has changed!

I feel like our marriage has been a lie that all the times she said she loved me was just words with no meaning...

I was a relatively a happy man but now I feel like a zombie just going through the motions.

·
Administrator
42,604 Posts
@bsoto

Welcome to TAM and sorry you are going through this. Many of us here have and survived it.

It's a long road to repair a marriage. Your wife needs to do most of the work to prove to you that she regrets her actions and can be trusted again.

About 85% of marriages are able to recover from an affair and go on to have a good marriage. So it can be done. But it will take a while for you to heal from all this.

In addition to the counseling, there are some very good books available that can help. Here's a link to one of them.

After the Affair: Healing the Pain and Rebuilding Trust When a Partner Has Been Unfaithful

·
Registered
2,219 Posts

Recently I found out my wife had an affair after 32 years of marriage or I should say 32nd anniversary coming up next month she denied it at first but then came clean some what?