Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been married for almost a year (a year next month)
We're both from different countries (different culture, language, etc) I moved to Turkey to be with him and found out a lot of things he had said to me before we moved didn't happen (he says he didn't expect them not to happen and i think he should have made sure before telling me anything, so i take them as lies of some sort)
So i got disappointed and felt betrayed. Couldn't find a job (i'm a designer) because of the whole language issue (they mostly speak turkish here, very very little english or any other language)
So now i feel really resentful towards him for leaving a far more comfortable life back home and being stuck here in this country where i can't have a meaningful conversation with too many people (my turkish is pretty basic)
Sometimes everything builds up in my mind and i have a breakdown - crying, screaming : the works. He ignores me, claims he can't speak to me, i'm always making issues, blah blah. That just upsets me more, makes me cry harder and i have started to hate him now :(
I loved him a lot , enough to move all the way but now i can't stop resenting him especially with the way i think he treats me.
Am i overreacting?
(I'm 26 he is 30)

·
Registered
16 Posts
You are frustrated because you feel that you can't communicate. Would he move somewhere that you can speak the language? Can he help you learn? Are you able to take language courses since you aren't working?

·
Premium Member
2,948 Posts
If you can't back off, you have to blend in!

Whenever you go to a new place, they won't change, you have to learn to adapt to this new culture and this new way of living. If money is not an issue, then don't worry about finding a job now. If you are determined to continue, learn their language, learn their culture, learn to live like them, then you will be happy!