Talk About Marriage banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum so I’m hoping to get a bit of advice. I’m 32M and my fiancé is 30F have been together for approximately 4 years (we don’t live together). We are both working full time jobs and making decent incomes as well (she currently makes more than I do). I’d say we have a pretty equal relationship and both carry our own weight and can “somewhat” talk openly with each other. We don’t fight/yell/scream at each other or purposely disregard each other’s feelings.

the main reason I am posting is is because it revolves around money/finances. We don’t spend a lot of money buying each other small gifts thought the years, but I have bought her a new laptop as well as a new phone earlier in the relationship which was a hefty price. On top of that we have gone on 3/4 trips together as well all in which I sorted out and spent the money on (one of the trips being where I proposed and gave a pretty expensive ring). I did cover hotel cost, Airbnb and the food cost when we were at the destination was split pretty evenly. One of the trips I ended up getting roughly a $3500 gift card from work and I ended up paying the difference out of my pocket when I could of probably used the cash for something else but I really wanted to go on a trip together. She does pay for meals, our joint phone bill and stuff whenever we go out so that’s no concern.

it Has been a while since we’ve gone on a trip together and she keeps on mentioning that we should go on an all inclusive vacation again. I have been kind of disregarding it because I kind of want her to just plan it and tell me “hey we’re going here so pack your bags”…kind of how I did it with the 3 other trips prior.