Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been married eight years. We have one child, two years old. I am a farmer. I get up early, around 5:am and am out of the house most of the day with the exception of being home an hour or so for lunch most days.
The problem I have is that I don't feel my wife is supporting me as much as she should.
When I get up in the morning I usually have to spend thirty minutes or so cleaning the kitchen before I can cook breakfast. Then, a couple of times a week I have to spend an extra hour or so washing and drying clothes, paying bills, keeping the books or whatever else has to get done.
When I come in for lunch, usually around noon, she is most likely either gone shopping, watching tv or looking at shopping web sites on the computer.
She is a great mom. She does a good job with our son and I know that takes allot of time and energy. This is the primary reason I haven't pressed the issue. The few times I suggested she help out more it turned into an argument and I got the cold shoulder for quite a while.
I feel I could get allot more done on the farm in a day if she would do more at home. Am I being unreasonable? What can I do to get through to her.

·
Registered
203 Posts
It sounds like the big problem is the morning kitchen. Paying bills for 1 hour a week or doing occasional laundry doesn't seem big to me.

I can think of three explanations
1) your wife is mentally exhausted from parenting (2 year old boys can be exhausting) so she's letting something that does not seem critical to her slide.