Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,890 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need some input here from TAM:

I am getting remarried soon. I want to change my last name to my new husband.

However, I am a professional person that is recognized by her last name. However, that last name is from my previous marriage (of 25 years).

How can I transition my name change professionally.

I've been reading but can't seem to make a decision.

Should I jump in and change my name professionally?

Should I put my First name (current last name) new married name? Gradually phasing out the current last name in parentheses.

Help?

·
Registered
6,104 Posts
Depends. If your name is how you make your money then you could change your name personally and keep your professional name the same.

I'm a CPA and when one of my established coworkers got remarried she just changed her name and it wasn't a big deal. She made partner not that long after so what name she chose to go by had nothing to do with her job performance. It's been over 10 years now and she's still happily married with his name.

BTW she never phased her old name out she just changed it. She just said "I got married and this is my new name". Nobody really thought anything of it.

·
Registered
611 Posts
I think the hyphenation thing is not as popular as it was 20-30 years ago. In fact, here in Texas (except probably Austin)* I’d say the norm is to just change over to the husband’s name. Many women in my community (Houston Metro) seem to incorporate their maiden
name as their middle name?

In any case, what ever you do do. Do it right away and consistently across the board. I can think of one gal at work who has been married at least 5-years and still has her old name on the company e-mail address. It gets confusing.

* For non-Texans, Austin is to Texas what San Francisco would be to the rest of the United States – bunch of “free thinking”, hippies and liberals.

·
Registered
2,582 Posts