Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Looking for some perspective, some advice, some clarity.

For starters, this is not divorce or step-child related. My daughter is our daughter. I am 40 years old, my wife is 31 years old. We are both professionals; I am a naval officer (potentially part of the problem), my wife is an accountant. Our daughter is 3 years old, our younger daughter just turned 1. Because of my job, at one point, I was away from home from about 6 months to 1.5 year old (about a year). I was rarely able to get home during this time. I have just recently been gone for 7 weeks. My relationship with my wife has been strained by exhaustion and no lack of resentment (she had to put her career on hold to move with me to my next posting and keep the family together plus on this most recent deployment of mine, both kids, Mom and mother-in-law all got sick simultaneously and I was at sea and couldn't help).

My issue is this: my wife has bluntly declared on several occassions that she hates our older daughter. She's not just venting. She has said such things as "she makes me so mad, I just want to hit her" (several occassions) and my most distressing, received while at sea, "I wish she was gone from my life... that's how much I hate her right now."

My preliminary analysis:
While I admit, my daughter is difficult at times, I don't see her behaviour as drastically outside the norm for a 3 year old. I've had the pleasure to grow up around young children, I had a younger sister growing up (10 years younger) and grew up around two nephews, plus others. My wife has had no young children in her life, ever. I often get the impression she expects our daughter to act and react like a teenager but she's just a baby still.