Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an ICU nurse, and I have been married to my husband for almost 10 months. We have lived together for about three years. The first year we were living together I worked a lot, and picked up a lot of extra shifts. He would complain that I worked too much, and didn't contribute at home enough. I took back how much I worked, but wasn't bringing in enough money. We discussed me going back to grad school for my masters to become a Nurse Practitioner, and he was willing to let me go Part-time, and pick up more slack financially. He brought in over a million that year(important detail). I went to school for two years, while still working in the ICU Part-time, and he started to complain that I wasn't contributing enough money to our home, or vacations (that he wanted to go on). I had no choice though, because I was working two 12 hour shifts a week, and all other days 12 hour shifts for clinicals. I finally graduated this past August, and got an amazing job making over double what I was before. I am still working in the ICU because I am getting credentialed through my new job, and if you know what that is it can take 3 months +. Our census has been very low this month due to two surgeons being sick/ having surgery, so I have been called off a lot. My husband constantly brings up how lazy I am, and that I'm just sitting around at home doing nothing. He also said this when I was working part-time, and in school full time. I constantly remind him I am being credentialed, but he thinks I'm lying, and just trying to sit around at home. I am the total opposite of that. I even signed up to be an Uber driver to make extra money since I have been put on standby at home. He isn't struggling to pay for anything, and goes on vacations a lot. It's like a never ending cycle. I work too much, I'm not contributing. If I don't work enough I am lazy. I seriou