Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I have a curious question for you all. I’ve been dating someone pretty fantastic for 5-6 months now. We’re taking things slowly and it’s going really well. We’ve gotten to the point where he now wants to introduce me to his kids, yay! Thing is that I’ve never really been around many kids, and am in need of some advice on what to talk about with them. I don’t have any nieces or nephews, and my friends who have had kids tended to keep to themselves once they became Moms. So, I have little experience with kids, unfortunately.

His youngest (8) is fairly shy (like me), but we have a surprising number of things in common (both love: crafting, baking, animals, being outdoors). His oldest (14) may or may not be there. She mostly lives with her Mom (BF’s STBXW), and is her biological daughter. BF adopted her when he and his ex got married. She a little trickier, and I don’t know as much about her interests.

I’m excited to meet them both, but am of course nervous as well. It’s a huge step, and I very much want them to be OK with me. Especially his youngest, as she lives with her Dad every second week, so she’s around much more than her sister.

Next week, apparently I get to meet his parents…. Things are progressing! :)

·
Premium Member
9,604 Posts
Congrats on the progress! You will probably have no issues with the 8yr old, especially with having things in common. Maybe just ask a few questions about things you know she likes, and relate a story or two about the same thing. Since she likes crafting and baking, maybe take something along that you made that you can talk about, or some goodies you baked. You arent looking to bribe her, but just to draw her out a little. The 14yr old will be your challenge, I'm sure. If she is involved with activities at school, like cheer, band, drama, or whatever, ask her about those things. Ask what kind of music she is into.