Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
My husband and I are high school sweethearts, we went through 3 years of long distance when I was away in college and married the year after I graduated. 2 kids and 20 years later we are now seperated and he is now suggesting a divorce. Our marriage has not been perfect, but our love for each other has always been a strength and a glue for everything.

I am a people pleaser and am someone who gives without ever asking for things in return, he is innately selfish and although these things have always been an issue we never truely fought and in the last 7 years we had gotten to a very content happy place in our relationship. Almost 2 years ago he met another woman at a game and our lives have not been the same since. I saw the whole thing play out in front of me and he fought the idea of this emotional affair he was having every step of the way.

When I discovered evidence and confronted him he admitted to the situation but promised he just got caught up in it and he loved me and wanted us. A year and half later and now at 10 months seperated he continues to go back and forth with this woman who will not go away and he continues to lie about seeing her because he does not want to loose me but can not walk away from her.

I have made it very clear to him I will not share him and if he can not stay away from her then he should be with her. Every time i find out, we are at time 4 or 5, he comes back to me begging me to hold on and not give up on us because he knows i am his future. The reason he left last summer was because his guilt and shame due to his behaviors and how he had cheated and hurt me has lead him to feel "broken" and he stated he needed to fix himself before he can try and fix us and we would be committed during this seperation.