Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Wow this is hard. I apologize but this is going to be a long post. . . .

My wife and best friend of 11 years dropped the 'we have to talk' bomb on me just a few days ago - on my birthday no less :( Cool as can be she said it was all over, that she still wanted to be friends but she was moving to the guest bedroom until it was feasible for us to find separate residences - we own a house together but I'm in my 3rd year of physician assistant school and completely poor, she doesn't make much money so who knows when that will be, certainly not for 5 or 6 months.

The backstory is that we were totally in love for the first few years then I guess we just settled in to a routine of work and chores (no kids for better or for worse). We were both very comfortable and secure but the passion definitely waned due to mutual neglect. Somewhere in there I became pretty dissatisfied with my job and decided to go back to school. At the same time she decided to quite her job and start her own business. We talked about this together and decided that both would be good way for us to be happier individuals and therefore eventually a happier couple.

In retrospect this was obviously not a brilliant plan, it did nothing to bring us together and we were both working like dogs. Our relationship was totally neglected an became essentially sexless (no thanks to either of us). About two years ago my wife travelled home alone to visit family and friends, I haven't really had time to travel anywhere because of school. While she was there she met some guy she went to college with 15 years ago. They started emailing each other and unbeknownst to me got very involved over the internet. For a good long time it was just email then last summer she went home again and then drove 5 hours to go visit him.