Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I have turned to the internet to find some answers. My wife and I have only been married for 2 month but lived together for 2 1/2 years before we were married. I am an artist and have little background in psychology. I have always been interested with the human mind. I went through severe depression and learned then the importance of communication.

My wife is very mathematically minded. You can ask her how she feels about something and she says I dont know. You can ask her to describe how she feels and she can't. It's almost like there is thoughts at all in her mind. I struggle with this because my mind is always going. You tell me something and I think of every possible situation and outcome. I think about the conversation I might have with someone and what they would say and what I would say back. I think about all the bad that might happen and how to solve it. I describe in detail how something makes me feel and discuss my views.

I love my wife but I know communication is the #1 thing in a relationship. I fear if we can't communicate than we will grow apart. I fear if we have children she won't be able to talk with them and problem solve with me.

I want to find a way to help her think more deeply and to be able to express feelings and to problem solve. I want to ask her what do you think and she can say exactly what she feels instead of throw her hands up and say I dont know!