Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I have been in deep thought about the following for the last few months, and have gained some great insights looking at other people's posts on this forum. I guess everyone's situation is a bit different (which makes like more interesting, of course!) but felt it was time to put my situation out there and see what people think.

I have been married for just over 3 years. I am a professional musician (classical); my wife is a school teacher. I'm not at all happy with life, and am contemplating whether I should separate from my wife and 'go solo'. Our lives are a somewhat complex situation, which I'll try to describe as succinctly as I can!

Firstly, I would describe myself as a thoughtful, kind, sympathetic, quiet, intelligent, artistic person. However, I can be self-centred, too eager to please, weak and indecisive. Music and Art is 'my life' - what I enjoy doing most of all, and am apparently quite good at it. (Excessive modesty/low self-esteem is also an issue!)

Basically, I met my wife-to-be shortly after she was victim of a series of horrible sexual assaults. They are still a cause of great pain and problems for her today, though with medication and counselling things are slowly on the improve. Probably will be with her for life though. I initially was drawn to her our of compassion, and a romance soon developed. We are both quiet people, and to this day struggle to have any lengthy conversations - communication is an issue in our marriage.