Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi...I am new to TAM and have debated on posting what is going on in my marriage. After reading several threads that are very similar to my situation I decided to go ahead with it as I could really use some advice.

First some background for you. My H & I were just married in February of this year. We have been together 9 years and living together for 5 years. We do not have any children.

We have always had our ups and downs like other couples but the last couple of years have been particularly bad especially the last 3 months. We keep having the same arguments over and over. I really believe it is due to the fact that we have many different beliefs and values. I had convinced myself that I could accept these differences because I really loved him and wanted the life that went along with him (Good friends, family, and the community we live in).

However, my H disrepects me on a daily basis. I have allowed myself to become his doormat. I have expressed my feelings to him more times than I can count and he always responds that it is my problem and not his to deal with. When I finally get fed up and really take a stand for myself he always says he understands and things will improve for a couple of weeks. There is never an apology or much effort to show me that he will improve. Then it's right back to where we started.

I am not anywhere near the top of his list of priorities. He is never home and will never commit to spending time with me. He works lots if OT for his job and when he's not working he consumes himself with all of the outdoor activities he loves. I know he is not having an affair, it's not in his blood. I have always suported the things he enjoys doing but he makes me feel guilty for doing the things I enjoy. Mainly because he feels that everything I enjoy "is a waste of money." Mind you all of our finances are seperate.