Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know only I can make a decision, but I could use a little perspective...

My husband and I started dating when we were 17, we moved in together six months later, when I started college and got my own apartment. He had dropped out of high school, I was an over-achieving academic. We got married after 5 years of dating/living together. Now, we've been married 8 years, I'm about to turn 32, he's 31. We've been through a lot- he got his GED, got a bachelors degree, I got my bachelors and masters, I had great success in my career but was unhappy, now in a slower paced job but figured out what my dream is and am working on it, bought one house that we are trying to sell/rent, bought our second house a year and a half ago. His dad died of cancer the year we bought our second house, and that was rough on both of us (he was the primary caregiver for his dad and they were super close).

I recently started a yoga teacher training program, which I know is contributing to a lot of this because it forces you to strip away your layers and look at who you are and how you want to live your life.

I started to have serious doubts about our marriage four months ago. Our sex life went from barely adequate to nearly non-existant- because I don't want sex with him. My personal sex drive has never been higher, I just don't get turned on by him. Over these last few months I have found myself not wanting to be around him in any way, not wanting to spend time together. He did do something wrong, didn't pay off our credit card bills over a long period of time while I thought everything was normal, but owned up to it and has been doing every single thing one could expect to fix his mistake and change behavior. However, I'm sure that caused some doubts, it did make me question whether or not we were on the same path in life/valued the same things.