Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am 37, been married for over 8 years, been with her for over 12, and we have a 4 year old son. Here's my problem...

I am a cop (CSI) and provide 2/3 of our income plus insurance. I do all of the yard work, I take out the trash, clean the toilets, do 90% of our cooking, take care of our cars, computers, and cellphones (maintenance and updates), love our son and play with him as often as possible (he sticks to me like glue), and love to be intimate with my wife as often as possible. I do not hit her, I do not drink, I do not do drugs, I do not smoke, and I have never cheated on her (and never would).

She is a pre-school teacher, does the laundry (half assed...piles clean clothes in the floor), and does the dishes 1x a week after I fuss about not having any clean dishes to cook with or eat off of. She lays around on the couch, watches TV, refuses to clean house, and has no sex drive at all. I have to beg for intimacy and if I am lucky, I get one night a month (or longer). She is EXTREMELY fussy and a nagger. She is never happy and nothing I do is ever right or good enough.

I have spoken numerous times with her about my issues and where we are headed. She blows me off, refuses to make changes for the better, and does not want to do her part to make the marriage work. We have gone to a counselor and he immediately recognized that she was the central issue. She admitted her shortcomings to him and what needed to be done to correct them...she never even tried.

I now feel like that I do not have a wife; I have a lazy roommate with a once a month benefit. I have no desire to spend the rest of my life with someone who does not appreciate me, and is unwilling to reciprocate my feelings.

Is divorce inevitable?

·
Registered
16,640 Posts