Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings!

I have been married for almost 10 years now. My husband and I have been together for about 15. I don't enjoy being involved in a lot of drama so I tend to stay away from social interaction. I'm a pretty easy going woman for the most part. I don't judge people and I try to deal with things rationally. So making friends is not an issue. But I do have a tendency to go long periods of time without communicating with anyone. That always causes problems. Especially among other women.

Ah well...since I'm not very good at maintaining friendships I figured I could get advice about married life here. Maybe I could be of help to some people as well. Who knows?

·
Banned
6,889 Posts
Actually, there is a difference between an introvert (who derive energy from being alone) and just not liking people. My ex said he was the former, but really he was the latter with a side order of social awkwardness. He felt inept, so he called it "drama."

I can relate to the periods of no communication though. I have periods where I just need some isolation even though I enjoy people. Sometimes I just need to think and process. Thankfully my close friends are understanding.

Is your husband understanding of your introversion?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Actually, there is a difference between an introvert (who derive energy from being alone) and just not liking people. My ex said he was the former, but really he was the latter with a side order of social awkwardness. He felt inept, so he called it "drama."

I can relate to the periods of no communication though. I have periods where I just need some isolation even though I enjoy people. Sometimes I just need to think and process. Thankfully my close friends are understanding.

Is your husband understanding of your introversion?