Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new here. This is my first post

Basically my marriage and job SUCK

Ive been been married for 14 years. We have two kids.

Ive been working in the same career for 16 years.

Ill try to make this quick.

Before I married my wife we were in pre-marriage counseling together AND individual counseling with the same counselor.
While dating he suggested we both make a list of top 10 things we are looking for in a mate.
I made my list, she made hers. We then shared the list.
I basically got a 10 out of 10 from her.
She got a 9 out of 10 from me.

#10 was.....physical attraction, looks, whatever you want to call it.

Basically, I wasnt attracted physically to her. She was overweight and Im attracted to thin athletic women who diet and workout and wear make-up dress trendy and hip.

I never felt right marrying her because of this. I had all these people telling me "Well, looks arent important if you really love her. We all will get old and looks go, then what is left?"

Well, right from our engagement I started trying to change her. We joined the gym and I showed her how to lift weights and we worked out 5 times a week. She was getting really hard and dieting..but she wasnt happy. And I never would give up because I feared that once we had kids she would stop working out and that she only did it so I would marry her..

I think I was right. Its been a slow downhill since then.
She never got back to her former self and only does enough excersise to maintain but as she gets older its proving not enough even to maintain and she is getting wider and softer....VERY slowly because she does workout but maybe only 1-2 times a week, 3 times on rare occassions and then a week or two will go by with no excersise.

Diet is pretty bad.

I work out more than the average guy and Im in well above average shape for my age (44) she is 46.