Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a 36 years old married to my husband whom I dated for 5 months. We have 2 kids. My husband is a very lazy person who sleeps most of the days, doesn’t want to help me in anything or appreciate what I do. He wants all his needs to be met but never asks or do what I need! I feel lonely most of the time because he doesn’t want to do anything with me. I feel like he has most of the narcissistic behaviors. I am not working currently and he works part time with a flexible schedule. Even though I asked him to work more hours he is not willing. I have a degree and I can bring more money but he is not willing to fix his schedule and I don’t want to take my kids to daycare especially at this time!

I tried to tell people around me and they said it’s not the right time to divorce. My question is when is the right time to divorce? We are not happy with each other and he doesn’t want to do counseling.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Do you have family near by that can help you? Or his family?
To be frank, the time to get on your feet and out on your own is now. I'm in a similar boat with wanting out, but need to get a few extra paychecks under my belt before I pull the trigger.
You and the kiddos deserve better.

·
Registered
740 Posts
Get out of this relationship NOW before you start making more money than him (you'll divorce eventually, guaranteed) and you have to pay him spousal support.

Be smart and proactive. Don't say anything at all to him, you already had. Just hit him when he least suspects it with the divorce papers.

He's not going to change. You cannot change him. Only himself can do that. He's not willing; why?...because he already has a mammi, a maid, and sex, so why would he wants to change when he already has it made?
Only you can change by taken the neccessary actions to get you out of this unequal relationship.

·
Registered
2,716 Posts