Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m very new to this but I’m ready to give up... My husband sits In Front of the tv for 8 hours a day playing video games. We do not speak. He can’t tear himself away from it even when his family comes to visit. He’s completely awkward when speaking to me if he notices I’m there at all but is non stop chatter when his headphones are on. He ignores the kids. Does little to nothing around the house. When I finally get fed up he verbally abuses me. I don’t know what to do.

·
Administrator
43,577 Posts
This is a problem that is becoming more and more common.

Some more info would be helpful, so I have some questions.

Does your husband have a job?

Do you have a job or are you a stay-at-home-mom (SAHM)?

You say that it's non-stop chatter. So is he online talking to other people who are also gaming?

How long has he being doing this?

How long have the two of you been married and how long are the two of you?

It's almost 3 am here where I live... so i need to get some sleep. I'll check on your thread here when I'm back online.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Is this since lockdown? Or has he always been a video game addict?

That's not really acceptable.

That neither.
So when you "get fed up", how exactly do you show it?
He’s always been a gamer but he could somewhat control it when he was working. ImWhen I get fed up I confront him. Ask him how much is enough, when will he put effort into our marriage and children. Then he explodes.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
This is a problem that is becoming more and more common.

Some more info would be helpful, so I have some questions.

Does your husband have a job?

Do you have a job or are you a stay-at-home-mom (SAHM)?

You say that it's non-stop chatter. So is he online talking to other people who are also gaming?

How long has he being doing this?