Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there - Newbie here.

Looking for experiences or perspective on an issue in our 5-yr marriage. Husband travels weekly and I'm at home with our child. Our contact when he is traveling is becoming less and less and I'm not thrilled with this. Yesterday, when sending photos of our kiddo from his phone to mine I noticed a bunch of crazy pictures and asked him what they were. He told me his team went mechanical bull riding a few days earlier. I feel hurt that he wouldn't want to share that with me. His response was to shrug his shoulders and say it wasn't intentional.

This isn't an isolated incident. It feels like he has a completely different life during the week. I want him to have fun - but I don't understand why he doesn't share with me? Any advice? Pls & Thank you!

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Agree, that would seriously bother me. If he didn't travel so much & was home, he would be sharing his days with you right? There really is no excuse to keep in contact with you more.

Don't let it go.

Good luck.

·
Registered
1,505 Posts
Would it help to suggest that weekly traveling for work can be a mind numbing, horrible, excruciating chore? The planes, the hotels, the never ending schmoozing. Its exhausting. Bullride? Yeah maybe that too... but on balance it is, in fact, like work the entire time. I wouldnt completely disregard him not wanting you to think he is having too much fun... he knows what you are dealing with at home...or he should.

And then you on the other end - probably feeling stuck to some degree while he is off seeing the world.

Its not all its cracked up to be *for either of you* - but thats the way it is with some jobs, and a new baby. You shoud tell him to send some of those pics so at least you can have some 'fun' too. You should do the same and send a pic to him of what is going on at the domestic front.