Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time doing this, so I'll try not to share unnecessary info.

Over the past year or more my husband and I have been struggling. He admittedly has a drinking problem, but will not consider counseling b/c he says he can do it himself. So we go through phases of him not drinking at all for a few days and then he will drink almost every single night for weeks in a row. When he does drink he goes out to bars without me and will tell me he doesn't even want me to go if I offer. So of course I feel horrible, sad, alone, confused, etc. We fight about his drinking and his social life that I consider to be of a single person, not a married person.

Recently, in one of our many discussions about how to fix things, I begged him to just be brutally honest with me about how he felt. He finally opened up and said that while he loved me very much, he didn't like being married and didn't know if he still wanted to be. He said he thought his going out and drinking all the time was because of these feelings that he doesn't like having expectations, responsibilities, etc. of a husband. Then he dropped the bomb... He said that he had been thinking about it and he didn't think he wanted children. I was shocked because this was something we had talked about at length before we married 2 years ago (during our 3 years of dating) and we always agreed we would have children. He told me that when we talk about our future and saving money, he doesn't want to think about a family but travel and buying nice things.

The baby issue alone is HUGE for me because I know that I will always want children and would regret not having. On top of this, he says he needs time to clear his head and decide if he even wants to stay married.