Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt to get outside advice beyond my friends and maybe this might actually help. I apologize if this is the wrong forum for this. It is my first time to this site. Also this most likely is going to be a long and pathetic story.

Here is my situation:

My gf and I were in a committed relationship and everything was basically great. We lived together. Loved each other, really enjoyed hanging out and being with each other. I thought I’d be married to her by now. Then after almost 2 years together she told me she was pregnant. YIKES!!

When she told me she was pregnant I was taken aback and terrified. I told her that I was not ready to have children. We discussed options for weeks but I knew she wanted to keep the baby from the get go.

So what does an unprepared and unaccepting new father to do? Takes out frustration and anger on the mother. We basically fought for the length of her pregnancy and when I lost my job (shortly after my son was born) she had already mentally "broken up" with me and moved home with her parents. Since then I’ve realized my epic error in behavior and have done just about everything I can to patch up things. This was over a year ago now.

I should add that even though we fought I never cheated on her or touched her. Nothing abusive.

Establishing and maintaining a relationship with my son was the first step. And I do see him almost every day. Thank god!!! This is the time that also gives me a chance to talk to her about our relationship. But she won’t have any of it. In her eyes it’s over. It has been over and there is nothing I can do about it. And proceeds to get resentful and angry. Her favorite retort is "You created the situation."