Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a disabled veteran and been married since 2006(we met in 1999). Just here to try and find answers to some martial problems.

·
Registered
2,371 Posts
Welcome, come aboard. Share what you can.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have been with my wife since 1999(I am 50 and shes 42) and always have been there for her no matter what happens. A few years after we met and planned to be married she came to me crying saying I was going to leave her because she had about 55k of debt from a previous boyfriend.

We ended up working it out so that I would pay her half of the mortgage and she would pay the debt off. It took about 5-6 years. That was about 9 years ago.

Recently she went and bought a can-am against my wishes and has been distant. Well, she was distant before that but its even more now. She stopped teaching a Saturday class to young children(her choice and I supported her) and leaves for road trips sometimes lasting all day. Since she got this bike a few months ago her focus has been on when the next ride is.

I am not perfect but I always strive to make a great home for my family and ensure they are always taken care of. All of the home repairs over the years were paid for by me and if I asked her to help she would say "I didnt ask for this house, I hate the fu**in thing". But yet she is the one that when we were looking to buy said over and over "its a dream and perfect for our family!". If she does do something small for the house its only because I have gotten upset(over a long period of time) and she doesn't want to hear it.

A few years ago I found dave ramsey online and started to follow his suggestions to be debt free. During that time I talked to my wife and tried to get her onboard but she just blew it off and would say "dont worry about my bills". She also refused to sit down and go over them with me.