Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hello everyone! I am wanting some advice. I am recently separated from my husband.

I had been cheating on him for about 4 months and I told him about everything after the anxiety was too much to stand. A little bit of background info....We have been married almost 10 years.

Throughout the course of our marriage he has cheated on me once ( early on), I have cheated on him one other time (with a man I met because he had wanted me to have sex with him and tell him about it later), there has also been physical abuse (I’ve had at least 4 black eyes, broken ribs and too many bruises to count).

I know it sounds crazy but we do have a lot of love between us and our 3 kids are well adjusted and devastated by this separation. We have managed to keep most of our “issues” away from them.

So right now we are living apart (kind of, I stay the night at his house most of the time), he says it’s only me who needs to be putting in work to rebuild trust.

He is currently on dating sites and talking to other women to see if I’m really what he wants. I guess my question is am I crazy to be trying to build anything while he is not invested? I’m struggling with resentment towards him for the abuse (I’ve always said I forgave him and swept it under the rug, never dealing with it) and I’m not able to provide the compassion I feel like I should be giving him.

He says I completely took away his family and everything he was working for, he was finally starting to do better. But even still as recent as last summer he gave me a black eye! I’m so bitter and unsure, if I would have left when the abuse started he would be the [email protected]! But since I cheated I am now the most hated person, but I feel like I don’t deserve that title!

I know what I did was so wrong and there is never an excuse for cheating. I am really just wondering if all this rebuilding in my part is total madness. Help me out please.

·
Registered