Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First post...I'm new at this. We are both in our early 30's, married for two years and have know each other for much longer. Good jobs, house, no kids, etc. The issue I am dealing with is my wife is very controlling. In the past I have kept telling myself that it will get better with time, or, it will get better when we get engaged or when something else happens. I don't feel that I have ever done anything to make her this way and she was this way in the beginning and I just ignored it.

She is fanatical to say the least. She focuses on certain things that may be bothering her and there is zero reasoning with her. She doesn't consider my point of view or any external factors. She nags relentlessly. I have blown up on her several times and she seems totally unfazed although sometimes she will cry. She rarely apologizes for creating this descension.

She is extremely controlling. She asks for details about my day and she is especially interested in what other people said at work and what interactions I had with other people. She asks constantly what I am thinking about. When I get a text message or phone call, she runs over to my phone before me and reads my text messages. If I want to text a friend or a relative (which isn't even a daily occurence) she gets mad. I feel that I do more housework, yardwork, fixing things, dishes, etc than she does. I don't think she has ever once cooked an entire meal for me although she usually helps with prep work.

She is very clingy. She always wants to hold hands, or wants a kiss before I leave the room. She calls and texts me sometimes for unimportant things- I think she is just checking up on me. She seems unreasonable on many things and many things are non negotiable, she only sees her side. She likes to tell me and other people what to do. I keep telling her that you can't tell people what to do.