Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the last few years, my husband and I have argued more and more often. He feels like I'm not supportive enough. I do recognize that I often shut down my emotions, but even when I catch myself putting up walls, I don't know how to take them down. We argue, then I feel horrible, then I feel defensive, then confused. It's a horrible cycle that I don't know how to stop.
:confused::confused::confused::confused:

·
Administrator
44,454 Posts
Need more info... Do you work outside the home?

How many hours a week do the two of you spend doing things, just the two of you?

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm a teacher and grad student. While that keeps me busy and at times stressed, I still spend plenty of time at home. I tend to disappear into tv land though. I watch a lot of tv. The last two years have been rough on my husband; he's struggled with unemployment and issues with his parents, but we always ending up talking about me. He's perceptive and emotionally supportive, but I have difficulty reciprocating.

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
We physically spend a lot of time together, hanging around at home. Sometimes we go out for a sunday drive or antiquing. He signed up to take a class with me that for a month meets 8hrs a week.

·
Registered
3,461 Posts
As the spouse of a distant person I can tell you it is often very painful to desire that emotional closeness and reciprocation, only to be met wiuth defensiveness, blame-shifting and stonewalling - if not even hostility. (I'm not saying you do these things, just speaking from my experience).