Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
I am not sure what to do here. I have been with my wife for 7 years, married for 6. We have a generally happy marriage and good family life.

When I met her I was on the recovery from a bad marriage, and was looking for nothing serious. I wasn't expecting to develop real feelings for anyone, but there it was. When we were dating she would be social, keep herself up and generally be ladylike. I knew she had come from limited means, but she was sweet and affectionate, which I am a snuggler and affection is important. We had a great intimate relationship as well, neither of us left wanting for more.

Over the last four years, since our daughter was born this has all changed. She bathes occasionally and dresses as if every day were lounge day. Sweats and Tshirts are the norm, hair goes unfixed, nails undone, etc.

Here is the kicker. I am a sales professional in the Oil business. A successful one and now starting my own global business. I was raised in this environment. She refuses to go to social engagements with me, business functions, client weekends etc. She refuses anything that involves social settings. Even when I can get her to agree it becomes a fight because she wont dress appropriately for the occasion as she says she dresses to be comfortable, and thats that.

I am involved with C Level types, balls, christmas parties at the country club, etc. I attend these events alone as she refuses to go. I have to continually explain this to my colleagues who at times do not understand. To Top it off I have a 4 year old daughter that she is raising to be a slob. Lets her out of the house dirty, in mismatched clothing, hair a mess and unwashed. She sends her to school like this if I do not intervene.