Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone/anyone. this is my first time on this site or any site like it - I am just at my wits end and would really appreciate anyone's thoughts on my situation. there is a lot getting to me right now and I do not know what to do. I dont know where to begin but ....

to people that dont know my wife and i well, we look like a typical family - we have the two most beautiful young children who I absolutely adore and devote my life to, we are both professionals (I'm in finance, my wife is a doctor), and have a nice, modest houst in the suburbs. We have another baby on the way (December). We are young (mid 30's) and have been with each other for 14 years (my wife was still at college when we met), married for 8 years. we have financial pressures due to the fall in property values but these are surmountable and my career, if not great, progresses slowly every year and I am finally (after a long slog) earning a good salary - unfortuantely the opposite has happened my wife as she has had to juggle motherhood and career and has seen her own business suffer in the downturn (quite markedly). So far so typical. These are all things most couples can deal with. However scratch the surface and a very different picture emerges.

We have major fundamental problems with our marriage and, I believe, we both have issues to deal with that pre-date our ever meeting. I believe (and I may be wrong) that my wife problems are more significant and more damaging to our marriage. These are not new issues and in truth have been there since before we married - we have either denied or ignored or I have accepted things I did not really believe in.