Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm not married, but I'm still looking for this kind of advice and help. I've been with my guy for almost 8 years--since I was a sophomore in high school (I'm now almost 24 years old). So where to begin? I have talked to so many people--counselors included--all with no relief. The counselor and my family are telling me to run, but I don't want to give up on him when we've been through so much together, both good and bad, and have had what I think to be true love.

Things haven't been the same in the past year or so...I have told him I feel like we don't talk as much or as meaningfully as we used to and I need that to feel secure in our love. He says we don't need to have deep, meaningful conversations, which is not what I need...I just need to talk once in a while...scheme and dream about our future..if we have one, for example.

I've read the other posts about guys not standing up for their wives, but I figure I may as well started a new post. Anyway so his mom doesn't think I'm any good for him. We are each others' first real love/relationship. She wants him to date around, which isn't necessarily a bad thing in general, but we were so happy together and I honestly felt like he was the one. His mother is not shy at all to share how she feels about me and the rest of the family seem to be scared to say anything to her, including her own husband. She is definitely the alpha in the family..no question there. She always gets her way and pouts and throws fits when she doesn't and makes life awful for everyone when she's mad.