Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Going on my first date in 16 years! Have no idea what the rules are now, or what has changed since I dated my STBXH.

I am not divorced yet, but we have been legally separated. I only wish now I had left in May instead of September because I was trying to work it out for the kids. It was a complete waste of time, because he just kept cheating. But I have really been done with my STBXH since May 2012.

My date tonight is with a old high school guy friend that I graduated with. We reconnected on FB and spent the entire month of December getting to know each other by phone daily. Last night he finally asked me out for "dinner and a drink" tonight.

So, what are the dating rules these day? I am a nervous wreck!

·
Premium Member
7,278 Posts
And if you are nervous, tell him.

Let him put you at ease.

He is probably nervous too!

And have fun, you deserve it.

·
Banned
296 Posts
Be yourself , be honest and just enjoooy !! Nothing to lose ...... my best dates were the first ones since there was no expecatations !!!

Good luck and smile often !!!!

·
Registered
2,329 Posts
:smthumbup: Good for you! Make yourself look pretty, so you feel good about yourself. Go out and have a good time. Don't sleep with him. ;)

I was separated for 2 years and I was never interested in dating. But lately I've been feeling differently. I think it has to do with the fact that I am FINALLY done with my STBXH.

I met a guy last weekend thru Meetup and at the end of the night (second night we saw each other at a Meetup group get together) he walked me out to my car. We kissed and I said to him "I don't know if I'm any good at this, seeing as I haven't kissed anyone but my husband in 25 years."

He said "No kidding?"